Movie rant: 7 Khoon Maaf

Ishaan Bakshi
2 min readMay 5, 2021

--

The second wave of this wretched pandemic is much more deadly and everyone I know has been affected by it, myself included. It’s such a difficult time and more so for caregivers of patients. I have been trying to keep myself collected and have turned towards movies and occasional reading. Not really helping, to be honest, but we all have to try at least. I watched 7 Khoon Maaf two days ago and it’s actually a 2011 movie so I was kind of surprised I hadn’t seen it earlier especially when I’d read the short story in high school.

It’s adapted from Ruskin Bond’s short story called Sussana’s Seven Husbands and the film was directed by Vishal Bharadwaj. Priyanka Chopra is phenomenal in the lead and even the supporting actors playing her various husbands have done really well. I obviously loved the short story because Ruskin Bond is, quite frankly, one of the best writers I have read. There is also a surprise appearance from him towards the end of the film which was really sweet. I liked the movie and the cinematography is really dark and adheres to the overall theme of the movie. I also loved Neil Nitin Mukesh and John Abraham in their portrayals of husband one and two, respectively. All of the cast has done really well and were very convincing in their characters. Loved it!

--

--

Ishaan Bakshi

“I’m quite illiterate, but I read a lot” — JD Salinger