Light, summery reads to break you out of a reading slump

Ishaan Bakshi
2 min readAug 3, 2021

--

It is a very common thing to experience a reading slump. It happens to the best of us and it absolutely does not matter if you are an avid reader or not. But to break out of it is what matters. I have discussed this in detail in a previous blog with tips on what type of books to read. In this blog I’m going to be talking about what are some light reads that helped me this year to get out of my start of the year reading slump. But first, you need to figure out what kind of books appeal to you when you’re not trying to prove a point. Meaning, what genre of books you like to read when there is no pressure and you want to read just for the joy of it. I have lately started to enjoy the lighthearted mundaneness of Japanese books so I’m going to recommend two of them here.

Strange Weather in Tokyo by Hiromi Kawakami- As I already talked about in another blog, this book is an understated gem and after finishing you will start to look at love stories differently. Pretty quick read as well.

Before the Coffee Gets Cold by Toshikazu Kawaguchi- There are four stories in this book connected by a strange, little basement coffee shop and the special service provided there. There’s a lot of heart and understanding in the stories, with some time travel too.

--

--

Ishaan Bakshi

“I’m quite illiterate, but I read a lot” — JD Salinger